Upcoming IIGCC webinar launches new guidance on physical climate risks for investors

Upcoming IIGCC webinar launches new guidance on physical climate risks for investors

An upcoming webinar, led by the Institutional Investors Group on Climate Change (IIGCC) with Acclimatise and Chronos Sustainability, will launch guidance for investors to help them get started in understanding, assessing and managing physical climate-related risks. The webinar, ‘Understanding Physical Climate Risk for Investors’ will be held on May 26th 2020 at 14:00 BST/15:00 CEST/ 9:00 EDT.

As the impacts of climate change become more apparent, the physical risks by this new climate reality has significant implications for performance of investment portfolios. A changing climate is impacting portfolios now and can impair value over time. This places a growing urgency on the need for investors to understand, assess and report on physical-related climate risks and opportunities. Acclimatise led the development of the new guidance document, available immediately after the webinar, with input from Chronos Sustainability and IIGCC members and staff.

In this webinar, participants will hear from keynote speaker Emma Howard-Boyd, Chair of the Environment Agency, on the growing impacts from physical climate risks that investors need to manage. John Firth, CEO and Co-Founder of Acclimatise, will present the guidance developed for investors, outlining the key steps in a risk assessment and management process to help investors begin to understand and assess the risks to their portfolios. There will also be a panel discussion and Q&A with three investors who have taken steps to address physical risks and identify opportunities to demonstrate how investors can get stared and key issues to consider.

Register for the webinar here.

Visit the event website here.


Cover photo by Jeff Brown on Unsplash.

About the Author