Cotton 2040

Planning for climate adaptation

600
billion is the global economic impact of the cotton industry
350
million people rely on cotton for their livelihood
50
percent of cotton growing regions face high or very high exposure to climate risk
75
percent of cotton regions to experience increased heat stress by 2040

Events

Our upcoming events are listed below. We hope you can join us!

1. WEBINAR: Cottoning on to climate change

Where: Online (Zoom)

Date: Wednesday 14 July 2021

Time: 12:30-2:00pm BST / 7:30-9:00am EST / 5-6:30pm IST / 7:30-9:00pm SGT / 9:00-10:30pm AEST

LEARN MORE | REGISTER

2. Region-specific workshops, Autumn 2021

This Autumn, Cotton 2040 will be hosting region-specific workshops to help actors across the cotton value chain better understand the implications of the insights and begin to plan for collaborative action. Details will be available soon.

3. Catch up: Cottoning on to climate change

Watch a recording of our recent webinar, learn more about the key findings and data from the research and hear from producers and industry actors what these findings mean for their organisations, and what’s needed to respond to the challenge.

Working group members

Interested in becoming a member? Email Valentina Toledo to find out more.